Big crowds turn out for ski jump, Slovenians dominate event
Feb 25, 2014 | 1984 views | 0 0 comments | 74 74 recommendations | email to a friend | print
BRATTLEBORO- A weekend crowd of nearly 6,000 spectators cheered and rang cow bells to encourage the over-30 world-class jumpers from around the United States and Europe to fly off the 90-meter Olympic-size Harris Hill ski jump in Brattleboro this past weekend.

Slovenian ski jumper Miran Zupancic won the FIS Cup, the Pepsi Challenge, and the Fred Harris Memorial Tournament. He posted a 264.5 to lead a 1-2-3 finish for Slovenia, outdistancing the field. Slovenia jumpers have taken home four of the last 10 Fred Harris Memorial Trophies.

Zupancic, 23, had a monster jump of 100.5 meters — the longest of the weekend — at 84 kph on the first of his two runs. His second jump hit 92 meters, which tied for the third-longest of the day.

Mitja Meznar, who competed for Slovenia in the 2010 Vancouver Olympics, came in second (246 points) and countryman Ernest Prislic third (232). Slovenia’s Matic Kramarsic was sixth (225).

Two-time Hill champion and Harris Hill record holder Chris Lamb, of the Andover Outing Club, took 11th. Kevin Bickner, 18, of the Norge Ski Club in Fox River Grove, Ill., and a member of a US team that jumped in Italy at the World Junior Championships last month, was the top US finisher at fifth place.

Brattleboro’s Spencer Knickerbocker was 24th at 125 points. He had a long jump of 68.5 meters. Mike Glasder, of Fox River Grove, Ill., the 2011 champion, came in eighth. Anders Johnson, last year’s Harris Hill winner, is on the US team in Sochi. Andover Outing Club jumper Zach Daniels won the Open Division of the Pepsi Challenge and Slovenia flyers also took the top four spots in the FIS Cup event Saturday.

In addition to the jumping, it takes more than 200 volunteers, 4,000 work hours, $100,000, five countries, 300 banners, 10 trucks of wood chips, 340,000 pounds of snow, 4,000 spectators, and 200 sponsors to make the Harris Hill Ski Jumping Tournament work.

Committee members include: Lynn Barrett, Rex Bell, Matt Bolster, John Dreyfus, Kathryn Einig, Kathryn Einig, Todd Einig, Jason Evans, Betsy Farley, Melissa Gullotti, Catharine Hamilton, Kelsey Harris, Sandy Harris, Pat Howell, Steve Jones, Andrew MacFarland, Kate McGinn, Brian Natsuta, Paul Natsuta, Liz Richards, Andy Rome, Sally Seymour, Dana Sprague, Dana Zelenakas, and Karen Zelenakas
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet