Mount Snow Academy students recognized
Apr 11, 2013 | 2225 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
MOUNT SNOW- Mount Snow Academy held its end-of-season awards event at the Old Red Mill in Wilmington on Friday, March 22. The following honors were awarded for students’ accomplishments throughout the year.

The Rookie of the Year is awarded to a student in his/her first season at MSA who performs well both academically and athletically, and shows significant potential for growth in both areas. Chris Frulla (West Simsbury, CT) received this award for the upper school, and Alexandra Welter (Babylon, NY) for the lower school.

The Academic Award goes to a student who exhibits outstanding academic talent and uses that talent to perform at a consistently high standard in his/her class work. The upper school recipient was Calvin Lyons (Marlboro). From the lower school, Ali Hsueh (Closter, NJ) earned this distinction

The Student Athlete title is awarded to a student who exemplifies a successful balance of strong accomplishment both academically and athletically. Connor Clayton (West Simsbury, CT) was the upper school recipient, and Daniella Edwards (Stamford, CT) the lower school recipient.

The Max award was created to recognize a student who demonstrates maximum consistent effort with maximum great attitude. Giovanna Fichera (Cornwall, NY) earned this honor for the upper school and Thomas Neal (Wallingford, CT) was recognized from the lower school.

Mount Snow Academy students achieve a place on the academic podium for the semester according to the following criteria. A podium student cannot have any grade lower than B+. A student carrying five or more classes may have two grades of B+, with all other grades in the A range. A student carrying four or fewer courses may have one grade of B+, with all the other grades in the A range.

Students who achieved a place on the academic podium for the semester ending March 28, are: Daniella Edwards (Stamford, CT); Giovanna Fichera (Cornwall, NY); Christopher Frulla (West Simsbury, CT); Alissa (Ali) Hsueh (Closter, NJ); Caleb Kamins (Litchfield, CT); Calvin Lyons (Marlboro); Max Lyons (Marlboro); Thomas Neal (Wallingford, CT); Mary Pettit (Southport, CT); and Alexandra Welter (Babylon, NY).

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet